Association for Collaborative Leadership

The resource for collaboration in higher education.

Noftsinger Award 

The John B. Noftsinger, Jr. Award for Service and Leadership

The Association for Collaborative Leadership bestows the John B. Noftsinger, Jr. Award for Service and Leadership upon an individual who has contributed significantly over the years to support and strengthen cooperation among institutions of higher education and between those institutions and their partners in the community and in the corporate and foundation worlds. In doing so, we recognize the many years of service the individual has devoted to the collaborative enterprise in order to help higher education be responsive, innovative, and caring.

The most recent John B. Noftsinger Awards were presented in 2017 to Neal Abraham, Five College Consortium, and Barbara McFadden, Big Ten Academic Alliance, in appreciation for their many years of service to high education and to collaboration.

Prior to that, Susan Palmer, Executive Director of the Five Colleges of Ohio, received the award in 2016 (below, right), and Nicola V. Beltz and Lawrence G. Dotolo (below, left) were the 2012 recipients of the award. 


Brochure for The John B. Noftsinger, Jr. Award for Service and Leadership 

Previous ACL Noftsinger Award Recipients:

2003     Charlie Bedford, University Center in Georgia

2003     Mary K. Ellis, the New Orleans Consortium

2003     Fritz Grupe, Associated Colleges of the St. Lawrence Valley

2003     Richard (Dick) Konkel, Southeast Florida Education Consortium

2003     Stan Love, the Kansas City Regional Council for Higher Education

2003     Hank Munroe, the New Hampshire College and University Council

2003     Lewis Patterson, Council for Institutional Leadership and Kansas City Regional Council

2003     Jackie Pritzen, Five Colleges, Incorporated

2003     Larry Rose, Kansas City Regional Council for Higher Education

2003     Dean Tollefson, Union of Independent Colleges of Art

2003     Neil Wylie, Council of Presidents of New England Land-Grant Universities

2005     Allan Watson, Alliance for Higher Education

2006     Rosalie M. Gates, Cooperating Raleigh Colleges

2007     Alice Brown, Appalachian Colleges Association

2009     Lorna Peterson, Five Colleges, Incorporated

2011     John B. Noftsinger, Jr., James Madison University, Virginia

2012     Lawrence G. Dotolo, Virginia Tidewater Consortium for Higher Education

2012     Nicola Vocola Beltz, Virginia Tidewater Consortium for Higher Education

2013     Wayne Anderson, Associated Colleges of the South

2016     Susan Palmer, Five Colleges of Ohio

2017     Neal Abraham, Five College Consortium

2017     Barbara McFadden, Big Ten Academic Alliance


Association for Collaborative Leadership is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization

Questions? Email

97 Spring Street, Amherst, MA 01002

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software